Siegfried Oswald Kittycat: Jai Alai Master

Yeah, I’m hangin out in this perfectly sized box. I’m a cat, knowwhutimean???

NOTE: As I am typing this, Herr S.O Kittycat is on his favorite perch for “computer time”: on his cat tree about 6 inches away from my head. This enables him to perform crucial editorial functions, meow directly into my left ear, and reach out a stretchy front paw for encouraging gestures like batting me on the cheek.

Siegfried has developed yet another cute-and-funny-as-all-get-out skill: the Jai Alai fling. You know how Jai Alai players use those scoop thingies (properly known as a xistera) to send the ball flying at ridiculous speed? Well, Siegfried perfected using his curled up paw to do similar things with his mousie toys. We play this game where I toss his ping-pong ball-sized suede mousies up onto the top floor of his cat tree. He then launches himself as a very determined 11 pound tuxedo kitty missile up after them.

This is where it gets extra cute: he’ll pick up a mousie in his paw and fling it, so that I can then retrieve it and start the whole game over again. He’s gotten so that he can accurately send the mousie flying at jet speed all the way across the room–about 12 feet–to hit the wall. And he’s deadly consistent–one mousie after another with ne’er a break in form. He can keep this game up for as long as I continue to pitch him mousies, but afterwards, he’ll collapse into some serious kitten-ey naptime. Those kitties sure can do the darndest things.

About siegfrieddarling

About umpteen times a day, I'll read or see something that will instantly inspire me to write; perhaps rant a little--but in a *good* way. Walks in The City, cooking, music, street fashion, movies and TV, books, celebrity gossip (I know--it's a weakness), worst roommates ever, memories of being a high school band geek/mod girl, MUNI, and, mostly, politix all make my fingers start twitching like a Walking Dead zombie in search of a keyboard. Up until now, with the advent of siegfrieddarling, I was pestering my mum and dad with fire-breathing topical emails, to which they'd return polite one-sentence answers in the key of "that's nice, dear." So, be pleased and secure that mum and dad's emails have returned to non-tirade conversations: I've saved the tirades for YOU!
This entry was posted in Siegfried Oswald Kittycat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

